Divided Sky, Benevolent Beasts [2/4]

The Four Symbols are a group of creatures from Chinese mythology who together represent the four quadrants of heaven, the five elements, and the four seasons.

They are: the Azure dragon, who represents East, Wood, and Spring, the Vermilion Bird, who represents South, Fire, and Summer, the White Tiger, who represents West, Metal, and Autumn, and the Black Turtle, who represents North, Winter, and Water. The fifth element, Earth, is symbolized by the fifth member of the Four Symbols, the Yellow Dragon of the Center. The Yellow Dragon does not represent a season; its bodily rhythms determine the passing of the seasons.